Kerkhoff and Farrell named preseason All-Conference selections

Seniors Shauni Kerkhoff and Kelly Farrell were named to the preseason All-Conference Team, the American Athletic Conference announced Tuesday.

Kerkhoff, the Owls’ starting goalkeeper, received an additional honor, being named Preseason Goalkeeper of the Year.

The Westerville, Ohio native has started 39 straight games in net for Temple over the past two seasons and is the all-time leader in save percentage (.806) and shutouts (17). Last season, Kerkhoff recorded 79 saves to go with six shutouts, while allowing just 1.13 goals per game. She was named to The American’s All-Conference second team for her efforts in 2014.

Farrell, a midfielder, led the Owls in goals with nine and added two assists for a team-high 20 points last season. She has started in 32 of 39 games with Temple since transferring from Old Dominion after her freshman season. The Sicklerville, N.J. native was also a second All-American Athletic conference selection in 2014.

Temple, which finished 11-8-1 overall and 3-5-1 in conference play last season, was picked to finish ninth out of 10 teams in The American’s Preseason Coaches’ Poll.

Anderson ruled eligible to play

Robby Anderson has been ruled eligible to play this season.

The wide receiver successfully completed his summer classes at the university and will be listed as a redshirt senior.

Anderson re-enrolled at the university in June after being dismissed for academic reasons in 2013.

As a redshirt sophomore, Anderson caught 44 passes for 791 and nine touchdowns.

The Fort Lauderdale, Florida native, who began his career at Temple in 2011 as a defensive back, redshirted his first year on campus and was later converted to wide receiver during his sophomore year. The 6-foot-3 inch receiver averaged 79 yards receiving per game and totaled 1,037 all-purpose yards in 2013.

Anderson is the second Owl to receive a waiver this month. Wide receiver Adonis Jennings successfully petitioned the NCAA for a waiver and was ruled eligible on July 29.