Men picked to finish fifth

The men’s basketball team was picked to finish fifth out of 10 teams in the American Athletic Conference this season.

The results were announced at The American’s media day on Tuesday. Louisville, the defending national champion, was picked unanimously to finish first in the Cardinals’ only year in the conference.

Louisville senior guard Russ Smith was selected as the American Athletic Conference Preseason Player of the Year. Along with Smith, the all-conference first team includes Louisville forward Chane Benahan, Cincinnati guard Sean Kilpatrick, Connecticut guard Shabazz Napier and Memphis guard Joe Jackson. Smith, Napier and Jackson were all unanimous decisions.

The second team is Central Florida guard Isaiah Sykes, UConn guard Ryan Boatright, Houston forward TaShawn Thomas, Louisville forward Montrezl Harrell, South Florida guard Anthony Collins and USF forward Victor Rudd. Southern Methodist guard Keith Frazier was named the Preseason Conference Rookie of the Year.

2013-14 Preseason Coaches’ Poll
1.     Louisville (9)                       81
2.     Connecticut (1)                  69
3.     Memphis                            68
4.     Cincinnati                           58
5.     Temple                               40
6.     SMU                                   39
7.     Houston                             28
8.     USF                                   27
9.     UCF                                   24
10.   Rutgers                              16